Chatham University

Year of Southern Africa 2014-15

Postcards from Southern Africa

Friend us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Email Global Focus at


Please check back for upcoming events

    Follow @GlobalFocusChtm

Southern African Development Community (SADC)

The southernmost expanse of the African continent includes the countries of Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, and Zimbabwe. The island nation of Madagascar claims a distinct language and cultural heritage. The Southern African Development Community (SADC) founded in 1980 pulls all 15 nations "towards a common future" …

The Republic of South Africa (RSA) to which we will pay more attention in the course of our studies in its capacity as the locomotive of SADC is both a member of the BRICS (most prominent "emerging economies" in the world) and the G20. The history of the Rainbow Nation bears many similarities with the history of the USA. Its economy accounts for about 24% of the entire African continent’s GDP.

Long before the global political icon Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela affectionately called "Madiba" (an honorary khosa title) or "Tata (father) Madiba" passed away on December 2nd 2013, many analysts all over the world had begun speculating on the daunting pitfalls inherent to his disappearance relative to political stability in South Africa.

Southwestern Pennsylvania is home to several hundred individuals who have migrated here from southern Africa.

Click on one of the flags below to learn more about the country.

  • Angola
  • Botswana
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
    Dem. Republic of Congo
  • Lesotho
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Seychelles
  • SouthAfrica
    South Africa
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Contact Information

Global Focus
Falk Hall
Woodland Road
Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Phone: 412-365-2924

For more information, contact Dr. Jean-Jacques Sène, program coordinator, (412) 365-2924 or